Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Essex Logo

Exhibitions & Events

Beyond the Frame

Maria Freire, Capricornio II, 1965

3 January 2011 - 29 June 2011

The University of Essex Collection of Latin American Art is pleased to be a part of Beyond the Frame, a Museums in Essex project and partially funded by the Heritage Lottery Fund, that focuses on artworks on paper in Essex museums.

Five regional museums were paired with a local artist who created an original work in response to a work in their respective collections. ESCALA was paired with glass artist Karen Murphy who has produced a stunning stained glass translation of Maria Freire's Capricornio II (1965). The exhibition will display the five original works alongside the five artist responses and will tour museums in Essex.

Image: Maria Freire, Capricornio II, 1965

Carlos Ginzburg: Talk and Performance

24 February 2011

This event is part of the exhibition programme for Intimate Bureaucracies: Art and the Mail. In this talk-performance Ginzburg will 'quote' his 1960s and 1970s practice in which 'the whole talk will be like a talk

Ginzburg was a member of the renowned Argentine organisation CAyC - the Centro de Arte y Comunicación (Centre for Art and Communication) which used the post to distribute mailed exhibitions and publicity about Argentine conceptual art.

Ginzburg's practice shows an extraordinary engagement with the mail system. He says: 'inspired by my friend, 'master' and elder, Vigo, I utilised the post office for conceptual art'. Ginzburg sent 'letter bombs' and carried out performances over long periods of time in which he would address letters to himself and have them destroyed at post offices, or visit destinations 'so it was me that travelled and not the letter'.

For more information about CAyC see the V&A's The Factory Presents blog where Melanie Lenz, the V&A's Curator of Digital Art, discusses a number of artworks in the V&A's collection made by artists in CAyC (updated 5/10/16).

Image: Carlos Ginzburg

Pinta London 2011 Public Programme

Pinta London - view art from Latin American - Spain - and Portugal5 June 2011 - 8 June 2011

The University of Essex Collection of Latin American Art is delighted to be organising the public programme at Pinta London for the second year running. PINTA is a unique event in London to discover the best of contemporary and modern Latin American Art.'

The Collection's Learning and Access officer, Miriam Metliss, has curated a public programme for the art fair. The public programme is consists of a series of talks and special events designed to complement the art fair and inspire conversations around the topic of Latin American art. 

Spanning two days the public programme covers 'Presenting Latin American art in the UK', Tuesday 7th and 'Collecting Latin American art in context', Wednesday 8th.

'Presenting Latin American Art in the UK’
Tuesday 7 June, 3 – 5pm

3.00- 3.10 Introductions: Valerie Fraser

3.10 - 3.30 David Lamelas in conversation with Isobel Whitelegg

3.30 – 3.50 Dawn Ades: Art in Latin America

3.50 – 4.00 BREAK

4.00 – 4.20 Pablo León de la Barra in conversation with Felipe Ehrenberg
4.20- 4.40 Catherine Lampert on Whitechapel’s engagement with Latin American artists

4.40- 5.00 Questions: Valerie Fraser

5.00- 5.30 Film screening: David Lamelas- Study of Relationships between Inner and Outer Space

‘Collecting Latin American art in context’
Wednesday 8 June, 3 – 5pm

3.00- 3.10 Introductions: Zanna Gilbert, University of Essex/Tate Collaborative PhD

3.10 - 3.25 David Barrie, co-founder of Art Fund International scheme

3.25 - 3.40 María Inés Rodríguez, Chief Curator, MUSAC, León

3.40 – 3.50 BREAK

3.50 - 4.10 Camille Morineau, Curator of Collections, Centre Pompidou, Paris

4.10- 4.25 Valeria Paz, former curator of Museo Nacional de Arte, La Paz

4.25- 4.40 Nicolas Bonilla: presentation of new book on Eduardo Ramírez Villamizar

4.40- 5.00 Questions: Zanna Gilbert

Painting the Caribbean

1-20106 May 2011 - 7 May 2011

Sponsored by:

American Tropics: Towards a Literary Geography

University of Essex Collection of Latin American Art

Centre for Latin American and Caribbean Studies

For centuries the Caribbean has both attracted and produced artists who have represented the lineaments of its landscapes and cultures. Agostino Brunias, Paul Gauguin, Winslow Homer, Chris Ofili, and Peter Doig are among many who have visited and painted. Others born in the region, such as Camille Pissarro and Frank Bowling have remained haunted by their childhood memories. Yet others have returned again and again to paint the places and spaces of their islands: Isaac Belisario, Wifredo Lam, Michel-Jean Cazabon, Aubrey Williams, Gesner Armand, Pétion Savain, John Dunkley. And the tradition remains vibrant, as for example in the map-based works of Rafael Ferrer, José Bedia, and Ibrahim Miranda. 

Derek Walcott, the St Lucian nobel laureate, has always been a keen painter of his island and an astute interpreter in his poetry of other painters. St Lucian painters such as Dunstan St Omer and Llewellyn Xavier are among the most distinguished in the region. So, in association with his time at Essex as Professor of Poetry, the AHRC-funded American Tropics project, along with the University of Essex Collection of Latin American Art and the Centre for Latin American and Caribbean Studies, is organising a two-day symposium called Painting the Caribbean. In keeping with the place-based approach of the American Tropics project, this symposium will focus on how the places of the Caribbean have been represented - its landscapes, its cities, its light, its sea.

Image: Aubrey Williams, Chatto III, 1984

Southern Press: Prints from Brazil, Paraguay and Chile

17.21-199425 September 2011 - 22 January 2012

The selection, from the ESCALA Collection, focuses on the works of thirteen printmakers, including Oswaldo Goeldi, Lívio Abramo, Antonio Henrique Amaral, Olga Blinder, Nemesio Antúnez and other key practitioners from the 1950s, 60s and 70s. 

It showcases work from a period when printing enjoyed a prominent position in art education, as well as in national and international exhibition circuits, and when debates about the medium's artistic status, and the uptake of abstraction by printers, were hotly contested.

Southern Press is produced in collaboration with Meeting Margins: Transnational Art in Latin America and Europe 1950 – 1978, a three-year research project being conducted in the Department of Art History and Theory at the University of Essex, and TrAIN, the Research Centre for Transnational Art, Identity and Nation at the University of the Arts London. It reflects the project's focus on contact, exchange and collaboration between artists from Latin America and Europe.

Image: Nemesio Antúnez, Camas en el cielo/Metamorfosis del sueño, 1992